Pulled Pork Slaw Dog


Read more on:  https://susanhi.wordpress.com

Ivan got a taste of my pulled pork supper yesterday and was disappointed that all he received was a bit of the pork.  Tasha made him a big serving of the leftovers which left me with a smattering of leftovers.  I decided I had to use them up for lunch and hence, the Pulled Pork Slaw Dog was born!  This is a knife and fork dog for me.  I’d wear it if I tried to pick it up and eat it!

One thing I’d like to point out is that you don’t have to make the pulled pork from scratch.  Costco has a really good pulled pork in their refrigerated section that just needs you to add the sauce.  Some areas, like Virginia, have Smitty’s Pulled Pork from Smithfield in the freezer section.  (Man, oh man!  I love that Smitty’s barbeque!!!  I’m not sure I’d make it myself if I could get that out here!!)  =D

I saw a pulled pork dog on a Food Network show at some point although I have no idea which one.  Or, it could have even been on Man v. Food – we love that pulled_pork_slaw_dogshow!!  In any case, I’ve always had it in the back of my mind that at some point I’d combine two of my loves – pulled pork and the almighty hot dog!

When Tash packed Ivan’s lunch she left about 1 tablespoon of macaroni and cheese.  I just threw that on the dog too just to ‘git-r-dun’!  Next time I make this, I’m going to butterfly the dog, fry in butter and Cholula; then I’ll toast the hot dog bun in the butter and Cholula.  This can happen while the pulled pork is heating up in the microwave.  And, like a the true Virginian girl I am, the dog must be topped with Cole Slaw!  You can douse the pulled pork with hot sauce – I typically do that on the sandwich.  You could also include pickled jalapenos on top of the pulled pork – yum!  A lot of flexibility here!

Here’s the basic method:

  • 1 1/4 lb Hebrew National Beef Hot Dog
  • 1 hot dog bun
  • 1/3 C pulled pork with barbeque sauce
  • 1 to 2 Tbsp of Macaroni and Cheese (optional)
  • 1/3 C Cole Slaw

Posted on March 26, 2010, in Beef, Pork, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment