Tony Soprano Steak Sub


In January, my little sister made the Tony Soprano Steak sub out of Rachael Ray’s Yum-O cookbook.  She put a picture of it on her blog, in case you are interested.  I made this for our supper tonight along with some shoestring French fries.

Now that I’ve made it Rachael’s way, I know exactly what I’ll do to it when I make it again.  In a nutshell, I will marinate the steak in a zesty Italian dressing for at least 24 hours; add some cheese; and make sure I have a lot more steak on that sandwich.  I’m renaming my version of her sub.

Also, my youngest eat a 12-inch sub on his own which is why I need 2 loaves of the garlic bread.

Italian Steak Sub

  • 2 pounds thick cut steak (I used rib eye)
  • 1 large bottle Zesty Italian Dressing
  • 1 jar Giardineri (next time I’ll get the hot mix)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 loaves garlic bread (Pepperidge Farm Frozen)
  • Provolone, Asiago, Swiss, or Mozzarella cheese slices

Put steak in a ziploc bag with the bottle of Italian dressing.  Marinate at least overnight.

Preheat oven to 425.  Wrap garlic bread in foil.  Cook garlic bread at 425 for 25 minutes.

Drain Giardineri reserving the juice.  In a food processor, pulse the Giardineri, olive oil, and lemon juice so that the veggies are rough chopped.

Get skillet screaming hot over medium-high heat.  Put 1/4 C of the Zesty Italian dressing marinade in the pan and let it get hot.  Add steak and cook 5 minutes on each side for nearly medium rare depending on thickness of your steak.  Once you flip the steak, add 3 Tbsp of the reserved Giardineri juice and coat the steak in it.  Remove steak to the cutting board and let rest for 10 minutes.

Take garlic bread out of the foil.  Open it up and put it under the broiler on low to toast the inside.  I’ll put the cheese on the bottom of the bread so that it gets melty and toasty.  Spoon the rough chopped Giardineri on the bottom of the garlic bread. 

After 10 minutes of resting the steak, slice it and put on top of the rough chopped Giardineri.

Posted on February 17, 2010, in Beef, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a comment