Crockpot Taco Chicken


Read more on https://susanhi.wordpress.com

I don’t use my crockpots as much as I should.  I have a 1.5 quart one and a 6 quart one.  I’m always thrilled when I arrive home and dinner is all ready though so I really, really should use it more often than I do.

It’s no secret that my family love, love, love Tacos.  Shoot – our favorite supper night is Taco Tuesday!  Sometimes I like to mix things up and I do that by having a crockpot soft chicken taco night.  This is not an all-day in the crockpot recipe.  It’s ready in roughly 4 hours on low heat or 2 hours on high heat.  I love to do this for an easy-peasy lunch after Church on a Sunday.  It just can’t be simpler!

I do these with all the taco trimmings.  We like to dress these like we do our normal tacos:  shredded cheese, diced onion, diced tomato, shredded lettuce, sour cream, and lots of Cholula hot sauce.  Yum!!  We really love our soft taco lunch too!  If I have leftover rice, I stir that into the chicken mixture after I shred the chicken.  It’s great to have the chicken, beans, and rice!

Crockpot Taco Chicken

  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 Tbsp dried, minced onion
  • 1 can of Ro-Tel tomatoes
  • 8 oz chicken broth (or water)
  • 1 envelope Old El Paso taco seasonings
  • soft taco tortillas
  • Toppings:
    • shredded cheddar
    • shredded lettuce
    • diced onion
    • diced tomato
    • sour cream
    • guacamole

Put the chicken on the bottom of the crockpot.  Season with salt and pepper.  Top the chicken with the drained, rinsed black beans.  Sprinkle the dried, minced onion on top of the black beans.  Pour the Ro-Tel over the black beans.  Whisk the taco seasonings into the chicken broth and then pour over the other ingredients in the crockpot.

Cook on low for 4 hours.  Remove chicken from crockpot and shred with 2 forks.  Add the shredded chicken back into the crockpot stirring to combine and coat.  Taste for seasonings and adjust to your liking.  If you have leftover rice, stir it in and let the mixture cook for another 20 minutes.

Prepare your garnishes and set up the assembly line so your family can make their own soft tacos.  Yum!!

Posted on July 10, 2010, in Chicken, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment