Mexican Cornbread Casserole


Read more on:  https://susanhi.wordpress.com

IMG_3845There are nights when I just want to slap dinner together and have it be terrific.  Tonight is one of those nights!  For most of the day we had sunshine and blue skies with a temperature of about 60 degrees.  Fabulous!

Well, by the time I was driving home from work, the rain was moving in and in full swing by the time I finished my 15 minute commute home.  I thought about just serving leftovers but I wasn’t really in the mood for those.  So, I put on my thinking cap as I browsed the pantry and the frig.  Dangerous, right?!

Here’s the basic premise:  cornbread mix, leftover taco meat, salsa, and other stuff mixed together and dumped into a greased 9×13 pan.  It smelled divine while cooking and tasted great too!  Garnish like you would a taco – yum! 

Easy-Peasy-Mexi-Dinner.  Yeah – not as good as Guy Fieri’s ‘winner, winner chicken dinner’!  =D  But it sure is an easy, delicious meal!!!

Mexican Cornbread Casserole

  • 1 pouch Marie Callendar’s Cornbread Mix
  • 1 small can of mild diced green chilies
  • 1 small can of minced black olives
  • 2 C shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 C water
  • 1 C Pace mild picante sauce
  • 3 C leftover taco meat or chopped cooked chicken
  • Garnishes
    • Chopped tomatoes
    • Chopped onions
    • Shredded Cheddar
    • Sour Cream, Guacamole, Salsa, etc.

Preheat oven to 375.  Spray a 9×13 pan with non-stick cooking spray and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl combine the cornbread mix, water, and picante sauce until well mixed.  Add the chilies, black olives, and cheese mixing well.  If the mixture is too thick, use salsa or water to make it less dense.  Taste for seasonings and adjust.  (I added some garlic powder – can’t help it—I love that garlic flavor!)

Bake at 375 for 35 to 45 minutes.  Garnish like you would Tacos or my Gonzo Pie!

Posted on October 14, 2010, in Beef, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice recipe. The idea of using cornbread mix is a very interesting. Nice twist.

Leave a comment