Fajita Roast


Read more on https://susanhi.wordpress.com

Fajita_RoastIt’s been a while since I’ve made the Fajita Roast.  I’m not sure why it fell out of my rotation.  But it’s been over 10 years, I think, since I last made it!  What I love about it is that It’s a very simple, delicious recipe.  You can cook it in the oven or in the crockpot.  It comes out great either way.  I often top it the way I would tacos or gonzo pie.  It’s great even if it’s simply topped with cheddar cheese and sour cream.

I like my serving over cheesy-garlic grits.  The rest of the family likes to have theirs over rice, egg noodles, or mashed potatoes.  Tonight the family is eating it almost like a dip using tortilla chips to scoop it out of the bowls.  My only regret is that I didn’t have any avocado so that I could give them guacamole too!  We’ve also been known to wrap this up in tortillas dipping it in the au jus that braises the meat.  I can’t think of a way that you could serve this that wouldn’t taste great.

Tonight I’m eating mine over some leftover Funeral Potatoes.  Wow – very, very tasty!!

Fajita Roast

  • 4 pound roast beef
  • 1 can Ro-Tel orginial
  • 1 envelope McCormick Fajita seasoning mix
  • 1 Tbsp garlic powder
  • 3 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

Preheat oven to 350 or set crockpot to low.

Put the roast in the bottom of a Dutch oven or in the crockpot crock.  Sprinkle the Worcestershire sauce over it.  Pour the Rotel over it.  Sprinkle the garlic powder and fajita seasoning over it. 

Cover and cook 3 to 4 hours in the oven or 6 to 8 hours in the crockpot.  Thinly slice or shred the meat when it’s finished cooking and put it back into the au jus.

Serve over grits, rice, noodles, mashed potatoes topped with shredded cheddar, sour cream, and/or guacamole.

Posted on December 20, 2010, in Beef, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey!! I’ve had this before!! Kim gave me this recipe from……Southern Living maybe??? It’s yummy. Mashed potatoes–natch!

    • I can’t remember if I got this recipe from a Southern Living or a Taste of Home but it was in one of those 2 magazines, I think. I really do love this roast!

      Do you remember Tina’s roast? I haven’t made that for ages either … like maybe in the 80s. I wonder if I’d still like it as much as I did then or if it will be like Aunt Bobby’s soup or the Cabbage Roll Stoup.

  2. Can’t wait to try this.

  1. Pingback: Ranch-Chili-Cheese Grits « SusanHi's World

Leave a comment