Cheesy Pasta-Chorizo Skillet


Read more on https://susanhi.wordpress.com

Mexi_RotiniIt’s not terribly cold in the the great Pacific Northwest and we certainly aren’t seeing that horrible winter all the weather folks were predicting this past fall – thankfully!! (I’m definitely not looking that gift horse in the mouth!)  There was just something about tonight that begged comfort food.  What brings more comfort than a cheesy pasta dish?  I made it with a Mexican flair since we typically reserve Tuesdays for Tacos.  Ole!

This recipe is a creation that I just whipped together tonight.  I wanted dinner on the table in 20 to 30 minutes so I decided to take a Rachael Ray approach with just a dash of Sandra Lee.  I also decided to add some black beans to it to help boost the nutritional stats on it.  Intrigued?  This dish really was tasty.  We are looking forward to the leftovers!

Cheesy Pasta-Chorizo Skillet

  • 1 pound Chorizo, browned
  • 1 small onion, diced (or 2 Tbsp dried, minced onion)
  • 2 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 pound pasta (We used Barilla Pasta-Plus, Rotini), cooked to package directions
  • 1 can Rotel
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 C shredded cheddar cheese

Cook the pasta to package directions, drain.  In a large skillet, brown the chorizo with the diced onion.  Add the Worcestershire sauce, Rotel, Cream of Chicken soup, and black beans mixing well.  Once it is very, very hot, add the 2 C shredded cheese, stirring to mix.  Stir in the pasta mixing well to coat it with the sauce.  Let it simmer for 5 minutes.  Serve.

Next time I’ll be better prepared.  This would have been dynamite topped with your normal taco fixings.

Posted on February 8, 2011, in Beef, Pork, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This morning for breakfast I put an egg (over medium) on top of this casserole which I had heated in the microwave. I used a knife and fork to shred the egg and get the yolk all mixed into it. Wow! This was a fantastic and delicious breakfast.

    AND here’s the best part – I was completely full with no hunger pains until 1 pm after having this at 5:30 am. You know I’ll be doing this again in the morning!! I’m not sure I have enough leftovers to go further than that, more’s the pity!!

  2. I simply want to say I’m new to blogging and site-building and honestly loved you’re web site. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your website . You really come with excellent writings. Regards for sharing your blog.

Leave a comment