Tangy Broccoli


I’m a fan of broccoli.  I’ve always been keen on it.  I worked with a dietician for a little over a year and became an even bigger fan once I realized how jam-packed it is with vitamins and minerals.  Did you know that a serving of broccoli has more calcium than a glass of milk?  Or that it has more vitamin C than the citrus fruits?  Here’s the kicker – it’s a better source of fiber than whole wheat bread!

I try to find or create creative ways to serve broccoli given the high nutritional value.  Before working with that dietician basically all I did was steam or nuke it.  It’s been fun finding new ways to enjoy broccoli!

What I like about this recipe is that it gives me the feeling of almost a pickled broccoli.  Ok – before you go EEEWWWWWW … have you ever tried Brussels Sprout Pickles?  They are the best AND my favorite way to eat Brussels Sprouts!  I actually import them from The Vermont Country Store.  I’ll confess that I just love pickles – of all kinds and all things.  Pickles are something most Southerners love.  You may be able to take the girl out of the South but you CAN’T take the South out of the girl!

Tangy Broccoli

  • 4 bags broccoli tops
  • 1 C apple cider vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp dried dill weed
  • 1 Tbsp Accent
  • 1 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 1/2 C vegetable oil

In a large bowl (with a lid) that can completely hold the broccoli with a little head room, pour the broccoli into it and then dump all other ingredients over it.  Put the lid on the bowl and shake to coat the broccoli.  Put in the refrigerator.  Marinade for 24 to 36 hours shaking about every 8 to 10 hours.  Drain before serving.

Sometimes I add 1/2 tsp cayenne to give it a little kick.

Posted on January 18, 2010, in Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment