Grecian Skillet Rib Eyes


Read more on:  https://susanhi.wordpress.com

I first saw this recipe in the October 1996 Southern Living magazine.  You can actually find the original recipe here if you want to try it the way it was originally written.

The first few times I made this recipe I didn’t take the time marinate the meat overnight.  There are days when I crave this and just slap it together still.  However, my favorite way to enjoy this is to give the time for flavors to meld.  Either way – I really think you’ll enjoy this meal.

I like to serve this alongside my Couscous Pilaf and a simple salad.  It’s also awesome with one of my potato recipes:  Dolly’s Potatoes, Roasted Dijon Baby Red Potatoes, or just plain old mashed or baked potatoes.  Or, one of my rice recipes:  Creamy Garlic Rice (if I’m making this on a weekend, for example) or my Almond Green Onion Pilaf

You could even go all Atkins with this meal and serve it alongside my Tangy Broccoli or my Kicking Oven Roasted Broccoli and a simple salad.  As you can see, we actually put a great deal of thought into what we will have with our main dishes.  Sometimes it’s a simple as what is the family jonesing for or what does the cook feel like making.

I won’t lie.  There are nights where this is all there is for supper.  That ain’t bad either, if you ask me.

Grecian Skillet Rib Eyes

adapted from a Southern Living Recipe that can be found here

  • Marinade
    • Juice and Zest of 2 to 3 lemons
    • 1/4 C olive oil
    • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
    • 2 tsp garlic powder
    • 2 tsp dried, crushed basil
    • 1 tsp dried oregano
    • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
    • 2 tsp Cavendar’s Greek Seasoning
    • 1 tsp Kosher salt
    • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 lbs 1” thick rib-eye steaks
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • Garnish
    • Juice and Zest of 2 to 3 lemons
    • 1/3 C to 1/2 C feta cheese, crumbled
    • 1/4 C kalamata olives, chopped
    • 3 Tbsp fresh thyme, chopped

Put the steaks in a gallon Ziploc bag and add all the marinade ingredients.  Massage the marinade ingredients into the meat.  Place in the refrigerator and let marinate 4 hours or overnight, optimally.

Heat the butter and olive oil over medium-high heat in a large skillet.  Once the fat is hot, remove the steaks from marinade (discarding the marinade) and put in the skillet.  Cook 8 to 9 minutes per side for medium rare or longer/less depending on how done you like your meat.

Try to turn this meat only once so that each side browns well.  After the steak reaches your desired doneness.  Reduce the heat to medium, add the garnishes, cover the skillet and let the feta cheese melt slightly (1 to 2 minutes).

Remove from skillet and serve.  I typically slice the meat after letting it rest for 7 to 8 minutes and serve it over the couscous, potatoes, or rice per person.

Posted on May 21, 2010, in Beef, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment