Roasted Dijon Baby Red Potatoes


Read more on:  https://susanhi.wordpress.com

I have never met a potato I didn’t like.  I don’t care if they are baked, fried, mashed, smashed, scalloped, hashed, whatever.  If it’s a potato, I’m a fan.  It’s my favorite side dish.  It’s my favorite main course.  If I were having my last meal I guarantee that potatoes will be involved in some way!

This is a very simple, delicious side dish that I love.  I especially love to serve these with beef.  Depending on what this dish is accompanying, you can dress it up with fresh herbs – rosemary, thyme, basil, cilantro, or whatever best complements your main dish.  Sometimes I just leave the herbs out.

Roasted Dijon Baby Red Potatoes

  • 1/4 C olive oil
  • 1/2 small Vidalia or Maui onion, cut in half and sliced into thin half moon crescents
  • 1 Tbsp Kosher salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 3 Tbsp Grey Poupon Dijon mustard
  • 2 to 4 cloves of garlic, grated or pressed (more or less to taste)
  • 4 Tbsp chopped herb of your choice (optional)
  • 1/2 C shredded parmesan (optional garnish)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Spray a rimmed, non-stick cookie sheet or jelly roll pan with non-stick spray.

In a large mixing bowl, quarter the 2 lbs of baby red potatoes and add the thinly sliced crescents of onion.  If you are using herbs, add those as well.

In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil, Dijon, garlic, salt and pepper.  Pour over the veggies and toss to coat well.  Pour out onto the prepared pan.

Sprinkle more Kosher salt and black pepper on top of the potatoes to taste.

Roast for 45 to 50 minutes in a 425 degree oven stirring once or twice to help the potatoes and onions to evenly brown.  You want the potatoes to be browned and a little crispy.

Posted on April 12, 2010, in Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment